3 Years on T

I hit three years on T yesterday. I don’t have much to say transition wise, so I’ll just throw up a couple of pictures.

I did post a little blurb on my Instagram here.

2016-04-26 12.11.14

I tried to grow out my facial hair for two months, but ended up trimming it for the interview I had about three weeks ago.

In other news, I finally (almost) got a job offer as a Lab Tech for the City of San Francisco. I’m just finishing up the pre-employment vetting process right now. I’ve sent them verification of my education and experience, and now I’m just waiting to get scheduled for a medical exam. I already put in my two weeks at Whole Foods, so I’ll be done with that shortly. And, my lease on my new place begins May 15th, so I’m free to move up there once that begins.

It’s funny how life works out. I had pretty much stopped applying to jobs within my field and was only applying to computer science internships. I actually got offered one internship and I’m in the running for two others. I will be working on my degree while working, so I’m confident that in a couple of years, I’ll be able to get a job as a software engineer.

Anyway, since I’ll be working for the city I’ll be getting pretty decent pay and have great benefits, including insurance. I’m hoping once everything gets settled, we’ll finally be able to afford top surgery for Alex and a hysto for me (and him).

Everything has been moving so quickly the last week or two. It’s been a little overwhelming, but I’m also extremely happy and relieved. I’m also sad at the same time though. I’ve become really close with people from my gym over the past 2 and a half years. It’s going to be tough to leave a place that I’ve called home for so long. They have been there for me for nearly my whole transition. I’ve gotten nothing but love and support from them. It’s going to be hard going to a new place where no one knows my journey and how hard I’ve worked to get to where I am now. I hope I can find a gym that is as welcoming as the one I’m at now.

I’m also leaving the city that I’ve lived in for 11 years now. I consider this place home more than the city I grew up in. I hope someday I can make my way back here (and Alex too!). I am glad to finally be making some progress career-wise, and I hope it leads to me being able to be with Alex soon.

On to new adventures though!

6 comments

  1. Really glad that you have a professional job lined up. Hope all your paperwork and the medical goes smoothly. As one engineer who worked for New York civil service – it is a great thing to have a permanent job, protection, benefits, and a pension. And although that sounds morbidly middle age, there is a lot to be said for having job security when the economy nosedives.
    You should check out their tuition reimbursement program before you shell it out of your own pocket – in NY they paid for grad school as long as it could be loosely connected to the job and I’m sure computer science would do the trick.

    1. I’m really glad too! It is such a relief. Haha, “morbidly middle age” might be my new favorite saying, but it is comforting to know that I’ll have great benefits and decent pay.

      I’m glad you mentioned the tuition reimbursement program! I looked into it briefly, and it definitely seems like it’s something they might pay for. As far as I can tell, I just need approval from my supervisor. I’ll definitely talk to them about it once I get all settled in.

  2. You have amazing eyes! It’s nice to see a timeline of your transition. I was lookin’ at your back photos. My back currently looks like the bottom photo you have. Can’t wait to get to where you are now. Gotta figure out some good back exercises!

Leave a Reply

