8 Weeks Post Op

Yesterday was my 8 weeks post op. I can’t believe it’s been 8 weeks now. It seemed like it was going slow at first, but now it feels like the time has flown by. Things are looking really good in my opinion. The left side is still slightly bigger than the right side. It’s probably just residual swelling. I’ve read that it can take up to 6 months to fully go away. The scars seemed to have gotten a bit thicker, but it’s to be expected, I suppose. I’ve been massaging them and the surrounding areas to break up some of the scar tissue and to regain my range of motion. I’ve been back to CrossFit for two weeks now. My strength in certain areas have suffered as I expected, but other areas are surprisingly strong. I feel like I can lift some of my old weights despite the time off. It feels really good. I also got a personal record on my mile time last week. It felt really nice to have an improvement so soon. It’s probably a combination of the fact that I have been doing cardio since 3 weeks post op and also that I don’t have an extra tight sports bra around my chest, constricting my breathing.

56 Days Post Op

56 Days Post Op

10 Days Post Op

10 Days Post Op

In other news, my suit is ready to be picked up tomorrow. I’m kind of nervous about it, but if it needs further alterations, then I’ll try to find a good tailor in the area to work with me. I bought some new shirts with some graduation money. It makes me feel slightly better about myself when I catch glimpses of myself in the mirror, and I can actually be proud of my chest instead of criticizing how the binder looks, etc. I’m still trying to get myself to a place where my hips don’t bother me as much, but here goes.

IMG_20140814_135720_066

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

