2 Weeks Post Op

So yesterday was my two weeks post op. I had a virtual follow up on Monday. I sent pictures to Dr. Mosser and wrote a quick note about the swelling on my left side. He replied the same day and said that I had bleeding on that side, so the swelling was to be expected. He also said it should go down in a few weeks. It’s basically fluid accumulation where tissue was removed. Usually, this gets reabsorbed. In some cases, they aspirate the fluid, and in rare cases, drains need to be reinserted. I also found out that this fluid build up occurs in about 40% of mastectomy patients. I didn’t know about any of this before to surgery. I’ve heard of others mention swelling, but maybe this is what they meant? In any case, I’m just waiting for it to go away at this point.

I still have one more week of wearing the compression vest. It’s either getting more comfortable to wear because the swelling/fluid is going down or I’m getting used to wearing it all the time, bit it seems to be digging into my skin less.

I’ve caught my image in the mirror in passing, and it’s really nice to see a flat chest. I’m also not self-conscious about the compression vest the way I was with my binders. I feel like it’s not visible at all. My binders had weird lines that I could see. I’m sure I was the only one that noticed, but it still bothered me. I’ve also noticed that I’ve been walking more upright and with my shoulders back since I’m not worried about the visibility of my chest. It’s nice to have one less thing to think about.

2 Weeks Post Op

2 Weeks Post Op

7 Days Post Op

1 Week Post Op

2 comments

    1. I actually returned to work just shy of two weeks post op. I felt really good. I have a lightly active job where I’m on my feet all day, but I think most surgeons say if you have a desk job, you can return after two weeks. Of course, it all depends on how well someone recovers. I think I had/am having a pretty easy recovery. They also recommend getting out for walks as soon as you feel you can.

Leave a Reply

