10 Days Post Op

I just wanted to give a quick update on my recovery. All the pictures I’ve taken have different lighting and are from different distances, so it’s hard to make a comparison. I took the last picture myself (the first two were taken by Alex), so they should be more consistent from now on.

There is still quite a bit of swelling on my left side. I think it has gone down some, but I’m not really sure. It is getting slightly easier to move that arm though, so I think that’s a good indication. Also, the bruising seems to be going away. My nipples are looking more pink every day. It’s hard to tell from the pictures, so you’ll just have to take my word for it. I also think the pictures make the scars look darker than they really are too. Everything seems to be coming along really nicely… I’m just really impatient about how long it seems to take the swelling to go down. Most post top surgery photos I’ve seen across the internet make it seem like they have no swelling at all. I don’t know if they make it seem that way to make it seem like they have perfect results or what.

I’m still having trouble sleeping. I think that will only get better when I can go back to my normal way of sleeping. I’m just glad that I’m not in school or have to study a lot for anything. That’d definitely make it more difficult.

In 10 days, I’ll get to go most of the day without the surgical compression vest. It’s getting pretty smelly. I mean, it was already smelly after 5 days of no showering and wearing it all the time, but I think it gets slightly worse. I’ll be really happy when I can wash it and not have to smell it all day.

10 Days Post Op

10 Days Post Op

7 Days Post Op

7 Days Post Op

6 Days Post Op

6 Days Post Op

2 comments

  1. Looking good! Congrats on your new chest. I’m not looking forward to wearing that binder either and having to sleep on my back.

    1. Yeah, the wearing the binder and sleeping on my back stuff has really been the worst part of recovery for me. I can’t complain too much though. Some people have it a lot worse. =)

Leave a Reply

