Catching Up With Past Lives

10264603_846930148656093_9053741938246508744_n

 

I spent the weekend at my mom’s house this weekend because one of her old friend’s that I haven’t seen in about 5 years or so was visiting. I thought it would be nice to see her and her daughter.

It was actually really nice, but one of the downsides was that because she hasn’t seen me in such a long time, there was a lot of my birth name and female pronouns coming out. I think it made my mom even worse than she already is. My mom’s friend’s daughter would correct them though, so it was nice that there was at least one person on top of things. Even I corrected them a couple of time, and I never do that.

I do think it’s especially hard for others to change the way they think about someone who has transitioned particularly when they are talking or remembering things that happened in the past. I’m not sure there’s anything that can really be done about this. They may see you how you are now, but when they think about you in the past, it’s like you’re a different person to them.

Leave a Reply

