Transgender Woman Suing CrossFit

There is a transgender woman suing CrossFit for not allowing her to compete as female in the CrossFit Games (link to CNN story here). I first saw this story last night on TMZ. My coach sent me the link and asked what my thoughts were. I have to say, I’m really disappointed to see how bigoted and transmisogynist their response was. They obviously don’t understand the effect of hormones on the body by their comment, “the fundamental, ineluctable fact is that a male competitor who has a sex reassignment procedure still has a genetic makeup that confers a physical and physiological advantage over women.”

When registration for the CrossFit Open was going on, I was unsure of whether I would sign up. In their drug policy, it states that there would be no waiver given for people taking testosterone even if for the purpose of hormone replacement therapy. I’m not even sure how they would know on a drug test if your T levels were within a normal male range. Ultimately, I decided to sign up. There were a lot of people from my gym doing it, and I thought it would be fun to compare my results from this year to next.

I read some of the comments on the various news sites reporting this story. That was a mistake. I found it to be very disheartening, and I also wish people would educate themselves before opening their mouths (or typing). So many people went on about the advantages that this transgender woman would have over cisgender woman, as if testosterone was still coursing through her veins. In reality, after a year of HRT, the advantages given by testosterone are pretty much gone. I also noticed that no one had a problem with a theoretical transgender man competing because “he would have no chance of winning, anyway.” That comment alone makes me want to train harder and one day dominate a competition.

I’m really disappointed with CrossFit Headquarters, but I am so glad that I found a place in the CrossFit world where the people are very supportive. The other day, one of my fellow CrossFitters (and friend) told me that she thought of me as a little brother. It was very endearing. That makes being part of my CrossFit family all worth it. I hope that people looking to get into fitness don’t get discouraged by the assholes at CF HQ. Not all people in the CrossFit world are bigoted assholes.

4 comments

  1. I read an article about this today and thought of you. I was actually going to ask your opinion and how it made you feel.
    Its so surprising to me that a large company like that, in California none the less, can be not only so closed minded but so very uneducated.
    I didn’t read any of the comments posted, but really all you have to do is look at her to see how the HRT has affected her. She is clearly a very fit woman, but she is not at all built like she would be with testosterone. Even if people are uneducated on the topic, all the have to do is OPEN THEIR EYES!
    Anyways, I hope you still do what you do because I think it’s great!

    Weston.

    1. I’m not sure that CrossFit HQ is in California. I think it’s in DC. But, Chloie lives in California, so that’s why she’s suing in California.

      She is definitely fit, but I read that she’s not anywhere near the top female competitors in terms of strength and ability. So much for her advantage being born biologically male.

      It’s also disappointing that CrossFit HQ took the stance they did when there are other sports organizations, such as the International Olympic Committee and the NCAA, that allow transgender athletes to compete after 2 years and 1 year, respectively, of HRT. And those sports organizations have been around MUCH longer than CrossFit has.

  2. I heard the story this morning on WINS all news radio and also thought about you. The way they told it, it as almost as if she had transitioned just in order to win at the competition. Reactionary and ignorant report.

    I think this story is appealing to the masses because it reinforces the stereotype of trans women as “linebackers in a dress” and of transition as a scam, or action taken to dupe other people. It is outrageous.

    1. Yeah, some of the reporting I’ve seen is absolutely terrible. The CNN version *seems* to side with her, but most of the other places I’ve seen… I don’t even know how to describe it.

      Some days, I feel like being trans is a normal thing, but then I read stories like this and browse the comments, and I am taken back to reality. There is a lot of ignorance and hate out there that I’m glad I don’t have to deal with on a daily basis. It makes me feel terrible that some people DO have to deal with that kind of prejudice and discrimination.

      For me, I think it’s one of the reasons why I don’t want to be “stealth.” I’m in a fairly safe environment where I have the opportunity to educate people and challenge their preconceived notions of trans people. Over the course of my transition, I haven’t talked much about it to people I’ve met after beginning my transition. I haven’t forced people to call me by male pronouns. I don’t correct people that still call me she. Despite this, I have noticed a shift in perception, and even though I haven’t explicitly told people to call me by male pronouns, most people do now even if they knew me early on in my transition.

      Anyway, now I’m kind of rambling. I hope one day this perception of transgender woman isn’t a thing, and we can all go about doing the things we enjoy doing without someone accusing us of lying or trying to get a one-up on other people.

Leave a Reply

