7 months on T

I’ll start out with pictures this month.

20131125 Back

20131125 Body 1

20131125 Body 2

I don’t have much to say in regards to changes. It’s pretty much more of the same (more muscle, more hair). Take a look at my pictures from the past months to see some of the physical changes. My voice is still gradually changing, but not as much as it did in the beginning.

My birthday was last week. My mom actually got me two cards (one she gave to me when she saw me at the beginning of this month and another she sent to me in the mail closer to my birthday); she went out of her way to find cards that specifically said son on them. I thought that was pretty cool, but a little unnecessary, haha. Maybe next year she’ll chill out a little bit and just get me fun cards like she used to. She never got me cards that were “girly” anyway, but I can’t complain since I have a family that supports me while others do not.

I’ve got an appointment with my new primary care physician on Wednesday. My main goal is to get a letter about my change in gender, so I can go ahead and get my passport updated. It’s unfortunate that I can’t just use the court order that I received, but it is what it is. I wish that I had done this before my old doctor got a new job. My new primary care physician is a nurse practitioner, so she’ll actually have to get the attending doctor to write the letter for me, which complicates things a bit. I also don’t know how all of this will work out when I need to get a new prescription for testosterone or lab work done. I’m preparing myself to have to essentially teach her about transgender care, but I’m hoping to be pleasantly surprised. One thing that I’m hoping to have done is have my testosterone levels checked (which hasn’t been done at all yet). I just want to make sure I’m in the normal male range. My cholesterol, hematocrit, hemoglobin, liver enzyme levels, and such are all within the male range, so that’s a pretty good indicator. We will see.

I’m looking forward to getting a break at the end of the quarter. This is the 9th week of classes. All that’s left is another week and a finals week. I’ve been really stressed out about classes and research, so I’m really looking forward to our winter break and getting away for a bit. I need a chance to clear to my head and decide if a thesis is really what I want to do, or if I would be just as happy tucking my lab experience under my belt and taking the comprehensive exam. In my mind, I still get the experience of doing research in a lab, but one path will lead to a paper with my name on it and the other will not. How important is having my name on a paper to me? So, that’s not really transition related, but it’s been on my mind a lot lately.

Anyway, all in all, I can’t believe it’s been 7 months already. As more time passes, I think less and less about my transition which is nice. It’s not as mentally consuming as it was in the beginning. Though, I will admit that I do check my face everyday to admire all the hair that is there now. Until next month.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

