6 months on T!

I can’t believe it’s been half a year already. Time has both flown and crawled by depending on the perspective I take when thinking about it.

First thing’s first because who wants to scroll all the way to the bottom of this post to see pictures.

20131025 Back

20131025 Body 1

20131025 Body 2

Harry decided he wanted to be part of the pictures this morning, haha.

Voice: I don’t think it’s changed that much since last month. I think that is either starting to level out or changing so gradually that I can’t tell anymore. If my voice doesn’t change at all from now, I wouldn’t mind at all, though. I like how it is now.

Hair: Oh man, there’s a lot more of that than I expected. My upper thighs are almost as hairy as the lower part of my legs now. I even have hair on my butt now, which I wasn’t really expecting at all. There is some I’ve noticed that is coming in on my stomach and chest now, but it’s still pretty fine and light in color. Oh, and I’m getting more facial hair now. I’ve noticed in the last month that’s it’s starting to come in not only along my jaw line, but underneath my jaw towards the neck area.

Fat distribution: This is probably the part that I thought would have changed more by now, but hasn’t really changed at all. So, I’m slightly disappointed by that. My hips and thighs are still the same size as they were at the beginning, if not slightly bigger. I know some of that is due to muscle, but the fat that I started with in those areas seems to be sticking around for the long haul. It also makes for finding pants that fit right (or the way I want) a bit of a problem. I’ve been working out consistently for 5 days a week for about the past month now. So, I’m going to try to make some slight changes to my diet to see if that helps any, though the season for gluttony is coming up, so we’ll see how that goes.

Muscles: I am still getting stronger. My muscles are still increasing in size, and I’ve seen huge gains in my performance at CrossFit. I think that’s more of a product of just working hard and pushing myself beyond my comfort zone than the testosterone so much.

Overall: I’m feeling pretty good, even though Alex is gone for a few more months. My research isn’t going as well as I’d like either, but I’ve been trying really hard to keep a healthy balance between work/school and everything outside of that. The injections have become a normal part of my life now, and I don’t look forward to them with any anxiousness now. In fact, sometimes I almost forget that it’s the day of my injections. I keep a reminder in my Google calendar, or else there are some days when I would have forgotten.

Other news: I contacted the two surgeons that are covered by my insurance. One of them is in Beverly Hills, Dr. Gary Alter, and the other in San Francisco, Dr. Scott Mosser. Just based on my phone interactions with both of their offices, I’m already leaning towards Dr. Mosser. I’ve got an in office consultation with Dr. Alter set up and a virtual consultation with Dr. Mosser, both for next week. I also have family in the Bay Area, so that would make post-op recovery a little easier, probably, as opposed to Beverly Hills, where I’d have to get a hotel there since I think San Diego is too far for comfort.

Leave a Reply

