Binder Problems

I thought it was pretty awesome when I first got my binders. I got two binders, both in the same style. but different colors. I would fasten all the fasteners and then pull it on as you would a t-shirt. It was amazing how it felt wearing the binders. That feeling has worn off as time has passed. Now, the binders are more of a nuisance. I honestly wouldn’t even both wearing them anymore, but the more I physically change, the more self-conscious I feel about my chest. It’s probably because I care too much about what other people think of me; this dude who is just sprouting facial hair, gaining muscle mass, and voice is deepening is walking around with size C breasts when not binding. It’s awkward, for me at least. I’m not sure what other people think or if they even notice, but the only thing I can think about is trying to hide them when I’m not binding.

This is where my problem comes in. I’ve been gaining a lot of muscle since I started testosterone and ramping up my workouts, so much so that it’s nearly impossible to get into one of my binders. (I have two binders which are the same size, but one is significantly smaller for some reason). Once I get the damned thing on, the sweating begins. Not only is it just annoying to be sweaty while binding, it makes it feel like it’s digging into my skin. Not to mention, no matter how much I try to adjust the breasts underneath the binder, it definitely doesn’t look like a male chest to me. At the end of the day, I come home and take my binder off, which can take me 5 minutes or more. I struggle so much that I’ve come to the point several times now that I’ve been about 2 seconds away from grabbing scissors and cutting it off.

I’d buy another one, but I’m worried that in another couple of minutes, I’ll just run into the same problem. I’m not sure which is more uncomfortable… the physical discomfort of the binder or the mental discomfort of having a visibly female-bodied chest.

Oh how I can’t wait until next summer when I can take enough time off to recover from top surgery.

6 comments

  1. Have you tried the binders from tranzwear.net? It’s not like most other binders, as it just goes across your chest and fastens with velcro, kind of like a big bandage but obviously not an Ace bandage or anything dangerous. But the guy designs it for your actual chest measurement, so it’s a more secure and better fit. I’ve got one and it’s pretty effective, I find that you don’t sweat half as much and it only takes a matter of minutes to put on and take off.

    I’m not sure what else to suggest, but thought that might be helpful, if you do decide to keep binding until your surgery.

  2. I second Chris’s suggestion. You might want to try to re-measure your self and see if you should go up a couple inches. It is unlikely that your binders will make it to next summer, so you might as well get new ones that fit properly. You’ll be less miserable. I have a Velcro AIR M binder from the Love Boat Shop that I wear when I feel like a sports bra won’t cut it. It is adjustable and it breathes (and I can breathe). I like that I can loosen it – I couldn’t tolerate the Underworks pullovers/step ins I felt like I was wearing a psych tight jacket.

    1. I wish I had recorded my chest size from 5 months ago or so when the binders were purchased, but yeah… I know that straight jacket feeling. I will definitely be looking at getting a new one as soon as I can.

    1. I suppose I’m one of the fortunate few since my insurance covers either 90% or 60% of top surgery, depending on whether the surgeon is in network or out of network. I do have to have letters from two separate psychologists/psychiatrists though, which means it will take a while just going through the process. But yes, I agree.

Leave a Reply

