Binders and Swimming. Any advice?

IMG_20130615_124130_134

 

Here I am sitting at the beach waiting for my car to be serviced. I just wish I could take off my shirt (in this case, it’s actually a binder) and go for a swim. I suppose I’m lucky in a way because it’s not unusual to see guys in board shorts and a rash guard or a wetsuit, since the water it’s do cold here. I don’t really swim in pools, otherwise that would probably be kind of weird. I tried on my rash guard yesterday, though, and I’ll have to get a new one because mine was super tight. I think I’ve gotten bigger, but also I’m pretty sure it’s made for girls.

Anyway, this picture makes me think my shoulders are getting broader, but it’s hard to tell since I don’t really take pictures from this angle.

I’m pretty self-conscious about the binder, always trying to make sure it’s flat and can’t be seen under my shirt. I’m sure trying to swim with it is just going to make that situation worse, but swimming and water sports are probably my favorite activities, just behind snowboarding, of course. I really hope by this time next year, I will have my top surgery complete. I will probably be topless as much as possible. I would be now too, if it were socially acceptable.

Anyway, I’ve seen a few blogs about swimming and transmen lately, but all the solutions seem just mediocre to me. I know I can’t have it all right now, but I feel like there must be a better way.

6 comments

  1. Hey, have you tried looking for specific swim-wear binders? I know Underworks do one, alongside shorts, but that’s the only thing I can think of, that would be useful and still allow you to swim. Apologies if that’s the style of binder you’re wearing already, but I can’t give much advice as I’m not a swimmer.

    1. Yeah, I’ve seen mixed reviews on those binders made especially for swimming. I have a C cup sized chest, but I hear they only work well for smaller chests. I may look into it more, but I may just sacrifice one of my binders for the sake of swimming. It’s gotten a bit tight anyway, so maybe some chlorine degradation will do it some good, lol.

  2. Since I can only see your shoulders, I can’t say whether your binder is effective. But, your shoulders look broad and defined to me. Those qualities are usually very masculine.

    I think we often magnify in our minds what our body must look like to others. I’m sure my chest doesn’t look as big to others as it does to me.

    The Underworks swim binder works okay for me, but the more weight I’m losing swimming, makes me feel like chest is even more obvious. However, most people seem to take me as a guy even though I’m wearing a rash guard in the pool. Only one person has asked about why I wear a rash guard, and I offered up the fact that skin cancer runs in my family.

    1. Yes, I believe you are right about that. I see things about myself that I think is a big deal and other people don’t seem to notice at all. Of course, I’m looking for these things and tend to be hard on myself.

      I may check out those binders made specifically for swimming at some point. I suppose if I end up not liking it, I could just donate it to someone who is not as fortunate as I am to be able to afford such things. I do wish the website that sells them would show more of a before and after picture of their items. I feel like that would give a much better idea of how well they worked, ya know?

      1. Yeah. It would also be helpful if the sites showed more models who weren’t either cis guys or super skinny female bodied people who already have very small chests.

Leave a Reply

