Day 1!

So, today I had my first injection of testosterone, but it wasn’t without its obstacles.

Yesterday, I had my follow-up appointment with my doctor to go over my lab results. All of my baselines were good. We then talked about the risks of testosterone: acne, weight gain, increased aggression, male pattern baldness, increase in RBC count, increase in liver enzymes, etc. There were a few more that I can’t remember off the top of my head. It was quite a list, but she will be monitoring these things by regular blood tests. So, she is then ready to “write” my prescription. I say “write” because this is actually electronic, and the doctor just selects medications from a drop-down menu in their system. Anyway, the injectable testosterone wasn’t in the system, and she had to call down to the pharmacy. Of course, they didn’t have any in stock. The pharmacy for student health services is fairly small. She had the pharmacist order the testosterone and told me to come back the following morning (today) at 9 to pick up my prescription and have a nurse show me how to do self-injection.

I was anxious/excited all day and night yesterday for this morning to come.

I showed up 10 minutes early to SHS, and the doors were still locked. When it opened, I immediately ran over to the pharmacy and asked for my prescription. It wasn’t in the system, uh oh. They told me my doctor hadn’t prescribed it yet, and the deliveries hadn’t arrived for the day. My doctor was in a meeting, so they couldn’t contact her. At that point, I was thinking to myself, “Of course, now I have to wait EVEN longer.” I went ahead and checked into the nurses clinic anyway because the nurse at the welcome desk wasn’t very helpful as I tried to explain my situation.

I waited for about 5 minutes before a nurse called me into one of the rooms. I explained what was going on with the prescription and the delivery. She looked up my information, and it turned out that my prescription was actually in the system. She called to the pharmacy to find out what was going on, and apparently testosterone is a controlled substance. So, my doctor actually had to write a hand-written prescription and walk it down to the pharmacy. I also hadn’t been prescribed needles to do the injections. We walked together to the pharmacy to ask about needles. I was VERY glad that she was the nurse I got this morning. She referred to me as August and used the correct pronouns, while the people at the pharmacy talked in hushed voices and called me she. My nurse told me to go eat and come back around 10. It was already almost 9:30 by this point, so that was just enough time and not too much of a wait.

I ate and returned to SHS. I checked in at the pharmacy, and they had my testosterone! During that time, they must have found my doctor too since they had no issues in giving me all my supplies. Then, the pharmacist took me over to my nurse.

And then here was the fun part. She showed me how to draw up the testosterone, change needles, clean the area, then injected it into my thigh. Ow! It actually wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. Before she stuck it in, I asked jokingly if I had to watch while she did it. I’m not going to lie; I was pretty nervous about the size of the needle. The needle is an inch and a half, and I believe an 18 gauge. So, it’s not insignificant. In two weeks, I will go in and give myself the second injection under her supervision and guidance. Yikes! I’m sure it will get easier, but right now, I’m pretty nervous about giving myself an injection.

Overall, I feel great though! I had no immediate adverse reaction to the injection. My muscle in my right leg is a little tight, but not any worse than any other types of injections I had in other muscles.

But now, it’s time for me to go be a student. Hopefully, I will have time to make a video tonight after class.

7 comments

  1. I wish i had video of me getting ready to give myself a shot for the first time .it kinda goes in phases. Step 1 assemble everything *like a boss* swab the area, glance at the needle, pause… deep breath.. study needle..tell yourself I got this! Close your eyes… open.Them.. peek at needle, repeat 100 times. *like a chicken!* next youll probably add a little pace back and forth… next I call it revving.. it goes like, needle up…and… needle back down again. Then the I just need a beer.. after that youre good you own the needle inject yourself toss it in the sharps bin *like a pro* and pat yourself on the back as if the last 2 hrs did not happen 🙂 p.s. it gets easier each time.

      1. Having her there is a huge help! It will keep you from showing you’re nervous lol. My doc did my first one and the refrigerated container arrived at my door with the others. I learned from YouTube 🙂

  2. Hey man you might want to check and see if you can use a smaller gauge needle to inject. I use an 18 gauge to draw and a 22 to inject and my testosterone is pretty thick. A lot of the guys I know use smaller ones than I do. I know I would use smaller ones if I could so just a thought. Anyways congrats on your first shot and welcome to the ride!

    1. Yeah, those are the sizes of my needles as well. The solution is pretty viscous and takes a while to draw up even with the 18 gauge. Apparently, these are the same sized needles as what was used in vaccinations I got back in boot camp. I just wasn’t paying attention, I guess.

Leave a Reply

